Sister Wives: The Three Different Polygamist Sects Explained

Published By with Comments

Categorized as Uncategorized Tagged , , ,

TLC’s Sister Wives has caught viewers’ attention for its behind-the-scenes look at polygamy, and it’s time to talk about how the other sects relate to the Brown family. Kody Brown is a proud polygamist who entered the series with a positive attitude. His goal was to show that plural marriage worked, but fans haven’t always been convinced.

Even though polygamy is outlawed in every state, over 50,000 people still participate in plural marriages. When fans were first introduced to the Sister Wives cast, their main goal was to show that such unions have value and meaning. For a few years, the Browns seemed to work in conjunction with one another. Christine Brown raised the children, and Meri and Janelle Brown went to work. However, over time, the instability of the marital practice began to show, leaving followers with more questions than answers.

In the United States, there are three different polygamous groups, which can all be traced back to the very same origin. However, somewhere along the line, the groups (sects) took a drastic turn. Kody, Meri, Janelle, Christine, and Robyn Brown all are from the Apostolic United Brethren, or AUB. Some Mormons may refer to them as the Allred group. Christine’s grandfather, Rulon C. Allred, founded the group, based on the teachings of Joseph Smith. Rulon was unlike the other sect leaders, as he never created new rules, or shared revelations in order to control his flock.

Content retrieved from:

1 comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trenton, New Jersey 08618
609.396.6684 | Feedback

Copyright © 2022 The Cult News Network - All Rights Reserved