The list of 51 Peoria Catholic Diocese clergy named in a 2023 report on child sex abuse

Published By with Comments

Categorized as Clergy Abuse Tagged , , , , ,

A yearslong investigation into child sex abuse by members of the Catholic clergy in Illinois has found at least 1,997 children in the state’s six dioceses were sexually abused between 1950 and 2019.

The Peoria Catholic Diocese, which covers 26 counties spanning from Rock Island in northwest Illinois to Vermillion County on the Indiana border, was part of that investigation.

Attorney General Kwame Raoul on May 23, 2023, released a comprehensive report, which included 51 clergy members in the Catholic Diocese of Peoria. Here is a list of their names, their Illinois parish assignments and the diocese’s claim of first report.

  • John Anderson: Saint Mary, Aledo; Saint Mary, Canton; Saint Rose, Rushville; Saint Edward, Chillicothe; Saint Philomena, Peoria; Saint Joseph Home, Peoria; King’s House Retreat Center, Henry; 1993.

‘He messed up my life’:2 Chillicothe boys endured repeated sexual abuse by priest

  • Michael “Miguel” Baca: Assignments not reported by archdiocese/diocese/religious order; diocese claim of first report not available.
  • Robert O. Barnett: Saint Patrick, Peoria; Saint Mary, Moline; Saint Patrick, Lincoln; Saint Mary, Delavan; Saint Mary, East Moline; Saint Francis of Assisi, Ottawa; Huber Memorial Home, Rock Island; 1964.
  • John M. Beatty: Cathedral Boys’ High School, Springfield; Peoria; Saint Patrick Central High School (now) Bishop McNamara High School, Kankakee; not available.
  • Walter Bruening, a.k.a. Walter Breuning: Saint Patrick, Urbana; Saint Joseph, Pekin; Saint Anthony, Atkinson; Saint Mary, Hooppole; Saint Augustine, St. Augustine; Saint Patrick, Raritan; Saint Mary, Henry; Saint Joseph, Henry; Saint Mary, Henry; 1999.
  • Edward Bush: Saint Thomas, Peoria Heights; Sacred Heart, Moline; Saint Patrick, Colona; 2002.

John Joseph Casey

  • Terry Cassidy: Christ the King, Moline; Saint Catherine, Aledo; Saint Mary, Keithsburg; Saint Anthony, Matherville; Saint Therese, New Boston; Saint John, Viola; Saint Andrew, Oquawka; Saint Mark, Peoria; Saint Edward, Chillicothe; Saint Mary, Moline; Saint Jude, Dunlap; Saint Mary, Wenona; Saint John the Baptist, Lostant; Saint Joseph, Chenoa; Saint Mary, Lexington; Saint Ann, Peoria; Saint Martin de Porres, Peoria; Saint Ann, Peoria; Teens Encounter Christ, Diocese of Peoria; Cursillo Center, Diocese of Peoria; Knights of Columbus Saint Jude Council, Peoria; 2015.
  • Louis Condon: Saint Mary, Moline; Saint Mary, Pesotum; Saint Louis, Princeton; Sacred Heart, Rock Island; Saint Mary, Lincoln; Saint Rose, Rushville; Immaculate Conception, Delevan; Saint Mary, Delevan; Saint Joseph Mission, Hopedale; Saint Joseph, Kewanee; Saint Mary, DePue; Sacred Heart, Moline; Hispanic Ministry, Diocese of Peoria; Saint Margaret Hospital, Spring Valley; 1982.
  • Robert Creager: Sacred Heart, Moline; Saint Malachy, Geneseo; Saint Mary, Keithsburg; Saint Theresa Mission, New Boston; Deanery, Rock Island; Saint Mary, Pesotum; Saint John the Baptist, Clinton; Saint Patrick, Wapella; Saint Patrick, Ottawa; 2002.
  • Paul F. Dinan: Saint Mary, Paxton; Saint Teresa, Kankakee; Saint Peter the Apostle, Itasca; Saint Joseph Mission, Loda; Joliet after 1996, Peoria not available.
  • Francis Engels: Saint John, Champaign; Saint Mary, Champaign; Saint Mary’s Hospital, Galesburg; Saint Joseph, Pekin; Saint Columba, Ottawa; Saint Mary, Moline; Saint Joseph, Chenoa; Saint Mary Mission, Lexington; Saint John, Woodhull; Saint John Vianney, Cambridge; Sacred Heart, Annawan; Saint Mary Mission, Hooppole; Saint Anthony, Atkinson; 1992.

Details on the unthinkable:Inside the scathing report on abuse in the Catholic Diocese of Peoria

Content retrieved from:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trenton, New Jersey 08618
609.396.6684 | Feedback

Copyright © 2022 The Cult News Network - All Rights Reserved